## GOVERNMENT OF RAJASTHAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT

Room No.8325, North West Block, Secretariat, Jaipur.
Phone No.0141-2227669, 2227393 Fax No. 0141-2227669
E-mail env raj@yahoo.co.in

Minutes of the meeting of the Committee constituted to identify Wet lands held under the chairmanship of Additional Chief Secretary, Forests and Environment on 03.01.2014 in his chamber in Secretariat, Jaipur.

The first meeting of the Committee constituted vide Order No. F. Forest(6) Wetland Rules/Env/Dir/2011 dated 03-01-2014 to identify Wet lands was held under the Chairmanship of Additional Chief Secretary Forests and Environment on 03-01-2014 in his chamber. The List of the participants is annexed at 'A'.

It was informed in the meeting that vide Environment Department's order No. F. Forest(6) Wetland Rules/Env/Dir/87-Pt dated 14-03-2011 Forest Department has been designated as State Nodal Agency to perform the functions and enforcement of regulatory activities envisaged under Wet lands (Management and Conservation) Rules, 2010. The Principal Chief Conservator of Forests informed that they have identified 23 Wet lands (Annex –'B') in areas that are ecologically sensitive and important as per Rule-3 (ii) of Wet lands Rules and 62 Wetlands (Annex -'C') having area larger than 500 hect. have been identified as per Rule-3(v) of these Rules. After detailed deliberations the following decisions were taken:-

- 1. The Forest Department will prepare brief Document Reports for the identified 23 Wetlands.
- 2. The District Collectors will be directed to identify Wet lands as per the criteria laid down in the Wet lands Rules, 2010 with the assistance of departments such as Forests, Revenue, Irrigation, PHED, Local Bodies and Watershed. A copy of the Wet lands Rules and the booklet published by Department of Environment regarding Lakes and Wet lands of Rajasthan shall also be sent to the collectors. The Proposals regarding identification of Wet lands should be submitted latest by 15<sup>th</sup> March, 2014.

(Action District Collectors, Env. Deptt.)

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(M.K. Agrawal)

Director cum Deputy Secretary,

Environment